Consortium on Individual Development


An overview of CID’s entire organisational structure can be found in the organogramClick on each subsection below for more information about each role and who fulfills it within CID.


The Steering Committee ensures the general management of the CID research programme. The members of the Steering Committee are:

Prof. Chantal Kemner (main applicant/programme chair)
Prof. Hilleke Hulshoff Pol (leader work package 1)
Prof. Eveline Crone (leader work package 2)
Prof. Susan Branje (leader work package 3)
Prof. Marian Joëls (leader work package 4)
Prof. Dorret Boomsma (co-applicant)
Prof. Patti Valkenburg (co-applicant)

The research programme is subdivided into four work packages (WPs), each led by a WP leader. For their own WP, the WP leader implements the policy of the Steering Committee and monitors scientific progress.

Prof. Hilleke Hulshoff Pol (WP1)
Prof. Eveline Crone (WP2)
Prof. Susan Branje (WP3)
Prof. Marian Joëls (WP4)

For each cohort, there is a CID Cohort representative.

Prof. Chantal Kemner (YOUth cohort, Utrecht)
Prof. Eveline Crone (L-CID Intervention cohort, Leiden)
Prof. Dorret Boomsma (NTR, Amsterdam)
Prof. Manon Hillegers (Erasmus Epidemiology Resources, Rotterdam)
Prof. Albertine J. Oldehinkel (TRAILS, Groningen)
Prof. Susan Branje (RADAR, Utrecht)
Prof. Marian Joëls (Animal cohort, Utrecht)

The Scientific Advisory Board is an advisory board to the research program in general and will advise the Steering Committee. The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are:

Prof. B.J. Casey (Cornell University, New York, U.S.A.)
Prof. Michael Meaney (McGill University, Montréal, Canada)
Prof. Nick Martin (University of Queensland, Australia)
Prof. Mark Johnson (Birkbeck, University of London, U.K.)
Prof. Jay Belsky (University of California, Davis, U.S.A.)
Prof. Larry Steinberg (Temple University, Philadelphia, U.S.A.)
Annelien Bredenoord, PhD (Ethical Advisor, UMC Utrecht, Netherlands)

The Supervisory Board is the Consortium’s supervisory and ultimate decision-making body. The members of the Supervisory Board are:

Prof. M.A.G van Aken, Dean Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS), Utrecht University
Prof. A.W. Hoes, Dean University Medical Center Utrecht
Prof. M.W. van Tulder, Dean Faculty of Behavioural and Movement Sciences, VU University Amsterdam
Prof. F.J. Oort, Director Research Institute of Child Development and Education, University of Amsterdam (UvA)
Prof. P.F. Wouters, Dean SBS, Leiden University
Prof. E. Sterken, Rector Magnificus University of Groningen
Prof. V.W.V. Jaddoe, Director Generation-R, Erasmus University Medical Center Rotterdam

The programme support office assists and facilitates the work of the Steering Committee in day-to-day management.

Lotte Houtepen, PhD (Project Manager)
Iris Bleeker-Beers (Secretariat)
Wim Zinger (Financial Office)